The tales of Beedle the Bard

The tales of Beedle the Bard is a book that emerged in the book and films of Harry Potter.

The Tales of Beedle the Bard contains five richly diverse fairy tales, each with its own magical
character, that will variously bring delight, laughter and the thrill of mortal peril. (Back of the book).0747599876_t.jpg

This book contains, as already said, five unique tales. After every story there is a note written by Albus Dumbledore. That way the story itself gets more meaning than just the story. You learn things about them you never would have if there weren’t these notes at the end.

There are also sometimes footnotes by J.K. Rowling herself if there is a specific word or sentence that needs some explaining to understand.

I got this book for my birthday from some of my friends because I asked for it. I saw it on the internet once and I was intrigued by it. Ofcourse there is the tale everyone knows from the books or the films but the other ones also looked as a fun thing to read.

The book itself is about 110 pages. So it is not a really large book. I firstly thought that it was a book that didn’t need so much attention to understand what you were reading, because it are and will always stay fairy tales. But when I was reading it I found out that indeed the tales itself weren’t that difficult to read. But the notes from Rowling and Dumbledore needs some extra attention and therefore the whole story needs more attention to. But that does not take the fun of the reading away from it. It is a book that even people who do not like Harry Potter could read. Because the tales self are not at all related to Harry Potter. They are just random tales like we have with The sleeping beauty, The little mermaid etc.

The book has five different tales.

  1. The wizard and the hopping pot
  2. The fountain of fair fortune
  3. The warlock’s hairy heart
  4. Babbitty Rabbitty and her cackling stump
  5. The tale of the three brothers

I personally think, even if it is a bit cliché, that the tale of the three brothers is the best and most amazing tale in the book. But I also enjoyed The warlock’s hairy heart tale. The other three are on the same level in my opinion.

I don’t know exactly why I like the tales of the three bothers the most. All I know is that, that tale has something so meaningful that it is a great tale to learn something from.

It is a great book to read after you have read the Harry Potter books. That is if you want to understand a bit of the notes after the tales. But if you just read the tales it is a great book for everyone. Even if you haven’t read Harry Potter.

I would really recommend this book, because it brings you a new kind of magic.

For now I sign off.

SoZing stops Zinging x

Leave a Reply

