Harry Potter and the cursed child

Harry Potter and the cursed child is a new addition to the Harry Potter series.Harry_Potter_and_the_Cursed_Child_Special_Rehearsal_Edition_Book_Cover.jpg

The eighth story. Nineteen years later…

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier not that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and a father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and sun learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

First I was a bit hesitant about the book/play. There were a lot of mixed opinions about it, but the majority of the reviews I have read said that is was a good book for a true Harry Potter fan. I wouldn’t say that I am a ‘fan’ of Harry Potter, but I highly enjoy the story of Harry Potter.

There were also some words about the contents of the story itself. It was not as profound as the other books, which would make it less enjoyable to read.

After reading lots of reviews I couldn’t actually make up if the story was good or not so I thought I would buy the book myself and read it to give my own opinion.

First of all I think that the book has a nice cover. I have a hardbook cover and over the hardbook cover is another paper cover as you have with loads of books. The paper cover around it is, in my opinion, a nice layout. It is not as magical as the other book cover from Harry Potter that I have, but with this book it is not disappointing. If you take the paper cover from the book, the hardcover from the book itself is black with the ‘symbol’ of the paper cover on the front and of the side of the book. On the side you will also have the title from the book and the writers. Everything on the hardcover itself is printed in shiny gold.

I like that they made a book out of it with the play within. I think it gives you the feeling of reading a book, reading a story, when you are actually reading a script from a play.

As I just said it is a play that you read not an actual book story. You see the name and that the sentence that will be said by that character. Through the play there are also lots of part that are in italic. Those parts will give you an imagination of the place they are or what is happening. For example: Scorpius appears at the back of the stage. He looks at his friend talking to a girl – and part of him like it and part of him doesn’t.

With the italic sentences you can make and imagination which makes it easier to follow the story and the emotions that the characters have. With those lines into it, it was really easy for me to actually read it a book story instead of a script from a play.

I must admit that there isn’t as much depth in the book as you will have in the Harry Potter series, but that is logical. The Harry Potter series are pretty thick books and there are seven of them. It is more than logical that Harry Potter and the cursed child is les profound than the Harry Potter series.

I really like the story. It is a story with 330 pages and I read it within two days. I think it is nice to see old characters again and meet new ones. I also think the story itself is really good and you will see the magical world in a totally different way. It will let you see that things can change over time and that not everything in life will be perfect even if you have a nice and quiet life compared to the past. I think that it is a nice addition to the series and I like that it is  a sort of continuation of where they left us at the and of Harry Potter and the Deathly hallows.

I think it is worth the buy and I also think that this book is nice for everyone that has read the Harry Potter books. If you are not going into it with a mind that it will be as profound as the story through the other seven books I am pretty sure that will you will like the story.

It is defiantly worth the read.

For now I sign off.

SoZing stops Zinging x

nest-main-tablet.png

Leave a Reply

